ENGL Savage 120W

Oshkosh

New Metal Member
Sep 7, 2008
Hello all. I am new to the ultimate metal forums but I have fallen back in love with metal and would enjoy immersing myself into the scene. I am planning on purchasing new amplification — specifically the ENGL Savage is what I'm looking at. My question to you is this: Have you played it? And if so, how does it compare to other amps in the price-range? I intend to play very high voltage technical melodic death metal, and the Savage looks like a great head.

Thank you for your time :)

Quite possibly one of, if not, the, most respected amps in metal these days. Never heard a bad word about it.

Hahaha sorry it had to be me.....Its all a taste thing really, I mean you can tell its a good amp (4 channels, loads of switches and stuff). I just found it to be like a more "crunchy" kind of sound than your typical metal kind of sound. Its cool for a kind of unique sound (think Darkane - Layers of Lies). I guess a typical sound for a Savage would be Natural Born Chaos, which don't get me wrong is a good sound but for me its a little bit too loose in the low end, and also the feel of the amp wasn't quite as smooth as the other amps I have.

Hahaha sorry it had to be me.....Its all a taste thing really (...) I just found it to be like a more "crunchy" kind of sound than your typical metal kind of sound.

This "crunchy" sound is what most ENGL freaks (including me) are after IMO.

I prefer the gritty ENGL crunchy sound than the smooth/fat/polished sound of a 5150 for instance.

This "crunchy" sound is what most ENGL freaks (including me) are after IMO.

I prefer the gritty ENGL crunchy sound than the smooth/fat/polished sound of a 5150 for instance.

Yeah of course - its purely a taste thing. I guess I was expecting to be able to get other sounds too or something. Its the kind of amp that would be cool to have as it has a unique character.