Exercises for building left-hand speed?

I have no problem with picking notes at high speed but fingering scales and the like is a nightmare. So my rhythm ability far outstrips my lead. No matter what practice I do, I don't seem to be able to get above 4 notes per beat at 130bpm if each note has to be separately fretted. My left hand can't keep up with my right. What exercises do people use to build up left hand speed, skill, and stamina?

Your left hand can't keep up with your right hand? That's a new one for me. When you say you have no problem picking notes at high speed you mean complex runs with string changing? Or single notes tremelo picked?

try practice your left hand only without picking,same phrasing as fast you can go.Practice on and on and on...May be your hand position.Maybe you lose focus and youre trying to go too fast.Made the sound of the note in your head before striking it.I am not a pro,i learn all by myself so i may be wrong.

youre right indiooo,everything gotta be done progressively.Respect your skills and depending on your amount of practice,it will come naturaly.Stay relax and focus,then go as fast as you can.

also practics all 1 2 3 4 patterns like 1243 1434 1214 u get the picture jus do it all over the neck on all strings and throw a lil string skipin in there will help u ;)

I never liked the idea of practicing chromatics, because you're practicing something you will rarely use (if ever). I think scalar patterns are more productive (besides fun, chromatic exercises bore me to death).

Indiooo said:
I never liked the idea of practicing chromatics, because you're practicing something you will rarely use (if ever). I think scalar patterns are more productive (besides fun, chromatic exercises bore me to death).

yeah, but they help alot with speed because they strengthen the fingers really well...but alas...they are boring as hell :ill:

Yep, get that thumb behind the guitar's neck.