Right hand sux. How fast you are? (Need tips)

Higon

No Blest´s Bassist
Aug 27, 2002
Brasil
www.no-blest.com
Dammit! Dammit! Dammit! I've been practicing finger picking every day for about 2 months and crap, I still suck! I mean, I'm a lot better then when I started, but I still suck. I can do some stuff really fast and clear, but I can't keep speed for a long time.

How you guys do it? I mean, you want to play Hammer Smashed Face. What you do when it comes to the fast riffs? With me It goes fast in the beggining, but then the strength fades out... How many time does it take to develop enough stamina to play fast?

Ps: I've started the right hand exercises again. At 40bpm 4/4, one hour a day, increasing 10bpms per week, practicing both 2 and 3 finger style. Let me see how far I'll go...

My right hand sucks at this moment, I don't know what speed.
40 bpm is that eigths? sixteenths?

Here's a scale that Adam Nitti has on his website, I like it to practice speed on. Speed on the same string is good, but speed over 6 string is way more fun :p

It's a major scale pattern, I usually play it starting from 6th or 8th fret

4 string:

G-------------------------7-8-10-
D-----------------7-8-10---------
A---------6-8-10-----------------
E-6-8-10-------------------------

5 string:

G---------------------------------7-9-10-
D-------------------------7-8-10---------
A-----------------7-8-10-----------------
E---------6-8-10-------------------------
B-6-8-10---------------------------------

6 string:
C-----------------------------------------7-9-10-
G---------------------------------7-9-10---------
D-------------------------7-8-10-----------------
A-----------------7-8-10-------------------------
E---------6-8-10---------------------------------
B-6-8-10-----------------------------------------

Off course you can play this scale in different ways, ascending, descending, intervallic, etc...