Finally brave enough to post my firs song...

abbated

FacePlant
Nov 17, 2008
Ok, first off it's not all that metal but I still used everything I've learned from months of reading and applying methods that I've learned here. SUCH A GREAT SITE THIS IS! Anyway, this is my first "real" attempt at recording anything serious. We're (my band) making a 14 song demo (demo; because we don't have enough money or experience to call it an album) and this is the first song that I've mixed. It needs A LOT of help so please BASH away if that's what I need. Even though this is my first attempt, since I learned everything I know from this site, it's ALL YOUR FAULT IF I SUCK!!!!! Haaaaa... ok, so it's not but I really would appreciate some feedback even if it's to say I shouldn't quit my day job.

The song is called "Feel" and it's just your basic straight forward rock song.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/page_songInfo.cfm?bandID=916347&songID=7425532

Thank you all for the comments. I appreciate them all.

@ Felix: The drums are actually SD 2.0 with the snare and kick "semi" replaced and blended. The tracks were performed/triggered on V-Drums.

@ ahjteam: Are there any specific areas that you'd boost the top end or is it the entire mix in general? Is this one of those areas where I'd be drawn and quartered if I put an EQ on the master bus and boosted ever so slightly or should I boost each individual element? Re: the Brick wall... I have VERY slight limiting on it now but no mastering done at all. Is mastering another area that the high end could/would be addressed? And thank you VERY much for the constructive criticism; it's exactly what I'm after.

sounds awsome finally a mix that doesn't make your ears bleed and is clipped to death... real good vocalist...

Sounds really nice. I like the way that it is laid back and not too fast. Great vocals as well, they fit very nicely with the style and sit in the mix just right.