finger tapping.

yeet_SAY_jama

Gobble Jo0 fetus!
Mar 21, 2003
Canada
alright.
First let me make it very clear that im a very sucky new guitarist (one year). I have a question about finger tapping.

My finger taps ring out soooo far from as loud as i would like them to without having SIGNIFICANTLY increase the volume with the knob. When i do turn the knob to a satisfactory volume, sometimes the tapping/hammers and pulloffs will sound irregular in volume (some will sound out fine and others abraisive and LOUD LOUD!) I believe that my finger strength is adequate to tap but i just cant get my taps to sound non-abraisive YET loud without having to crank the volume HIGH.

Please help me by describing what you would do in the following transition: You are picking the solo in "Sea Of Lies". The picking part ends abrubtly and you prepair for the long finger tapping part. WHAT DO YOU DO?
1 Do you select a differnt pickup?
2 Do you adjust volume?
3 Do you adjust tone?
4 Do use any effect? (Volume pedal ect.)

please help me, my transitioning from picking is sloppy.

you shouldn't have to change your tone for tapping. Its generally a good idea to keep the volume knob full up when you solo though, it gives the max output for your pickups thus higher gain. You need distortion to make legato or tapping stand out a bit since theres no attack coming from your pick. The idea is to get it so you don't have any "weak" notes when you tap or play legato, all of them should preferably be sounding strong and clear. I don't quite understand what you mean by abrasive? Do you mean string noise, or strings ringing out that shouldnt be? You can help clear that up by making sure you mute the lower strings with your right hand palm and the upper strings with the flesh of your index finger on your left hand. And above all else, start out slow and practice with a metronome.

Thanks Yngvai