First crack at real drum mix i recorded!!

broken81

Used by Protools
Dec 26, 2005
Detroit, MI
Yep my very first real drums recording and mixing :zombie:

YouSendIt: The Leader in File Delivery.

Does my snare sound like complete poop??

Do the toms need more smack and less boom??

just dumb stuff im a newb...

I had a hell of a time with it getting a sound i even remotely like on snare.

Guitars and bass are just quick scratch tracks i did yesterday over top of drums and i have been mixing everything just to see what i could pull off with real drums. I know there is some loud parts i need to automate in blast beats and i think toms are a bit loud but my ears are going for today....

Have a listen let me know what you guys think please...

yea its sneap sample with vinnie paul mixed in i think im gonna try some other ones. You think i should beef up the kick drum to match it though or get toms more clanky (less beffy)??

How do you expect us to offer constructive criticism on YOUR drum recording/ tone when you've sampled the shit out of the kick with two pro samples?

Thats kinda a dumb answer no offense.. It's still a drum mix sampled or not :Smug:

I mean there is more to the drums than just the kick honestly how are the overheads do the cymbals sound like crap? to loud to soft? how's the high hat sound can you even hear it? What about the toms and the snare? Anyways I thought it was pretty common in metal to sample the kick 100% and mix drum samples and stuff like that. The kick drum i recorded sounded like ass so it was either sound like ass or sample it.

Yea i realized i didn't pick the best kick drum samples now and i will go back and mess with some other samples i got and try to make a better blend to fit the toms more. I don't have a kick drum Mic well a decent one anyway so recording a good kick sample is out of the question till i get me a d-112 or something.