First Mix! Thoughts and Suggestions Please!

www.beyondfatemusic.com/storage/timeline_test_mastered.mp3
This is something that I've been working on for the past few days trying to learn how to mix to begin with...so this is my first ever job. I haven't gotten to the vocals yet but this is what I have so far.

Thanks to Elephant Audio for letting me bug him for the past few days! You've been an amazing help.

Any suggestions would be appreciated...I'm completely new to this so whatever I can learn to make things better I'd like to know! Thanks guys!

Why is the max Peak at -14db? and 20s silence at the
beginning? You should fix this before encoding it as mp3 I think!
Doesn't sound bad to me but I'm no expert!
Without vocals this song is kinda boring to me and I have no idea what style it should be....

because I don't know how to master, and the 20seconds is how it was tracked. I didn't get rid of it because its all in progress and I just wanted to get it up.

After all, this IS my in progress first mix.

All I gotta say is the style shouldn't be worried about. Just listen to it man lol. there are influences all over. It's definately progressive though.

Opening riff sounds like The Police's "message in a bottle".

Constructive criticism: Bass sounds weird as it's a busy line but it's very "woolly" sounding, perhaps a tonal change required. There's some sloppy playing and timing issues (all instruments) which is the first priority to work on before worrying about the mix. Most folks will notice that before they're concerned about tone. Suggestion is that this is retracked with tighter playing. Hope this helps...

yeah, all of the stuff from the band is kind of sloppy and not played to a click (ugghhhh, the tracking dude isn't experienced in metal or hard rock i guess..) so there wont be any retracking...no time money and this is an abandoned kind of thing.