First Post: Some "noob" questions

satchaholic

New Metal Member
Oct 29, 2012
Hey everyone,
First post on the forum after lurking for a bit. Seen a lot of really good Impulse threads lately and decided it was time to get "official" so I could ask some of my "beginner" questions.

I'm a guitarist trying to get into the recording side of things again and I'm blown away at some of the quality of the clips and stuff posted on the forum. Looks like there are some professionals and professional studio owners on the forum as well!

A little about the gear I'm working with:
- Cubase LE 5 and a Tascam US1800 interface
- Guitar (PRS Singlecut) -> Mesa Recording Pre and 2:90 Poweramp / Peavey Mace VT Series head -> various effects

One thing I have ALWAYS struggled with is getting "realistic" drum tracks. I tried searching the forum after registering, but my search results came back really weird. I know there are drum "programming" tutorials on here somewhere, but I can't seem to find them. I'm trying to take the next step up from Fruity Loops as that is all I am familiar with. I have toyed with samples a bit, but basically drag and drop of wav files in an audio track in Cubase... very time consuming and "hit or miss" results.

Now with the rise of "impulses" and "IR's", I'm kinda drowning in loads of info, samples, techniques, do's, dont's, etc. I'm still a little unclear on what "re-amping" actually is. Is it a clean guitar input with impulses over it, or is it a dirty input with impulses added after recording?

can someone point me in the right direction of the drum programming 101 threads and maybe the "getting started" section of the forum? :)

Thanks!

Looking forward to learning a lot and applying it towards the recording of my first full track!

Influences: Satriani, Tremonti, Andy Timmons, Petrucci