Free Stereo Enhancer?

gorath23

Feb 6, 2008
Ok guys, I've been screwing around with my Guitar tracks now for a bit and I'm pretty happy with the results, unfortunately I'm using the same track doubled up each side (4 tracks in total, I'm too sloppy to have separate takes for each side). Soloing left or right sides sounds awesome but as soon as I have them running together the stereo field is being pulled back to the centre and I'm losing that really in-your-face tone. Anyway I can get round this? - will a Stereo Enhancer/Expander help and if so could you recommend me a good one? Preferably free!

I can't think of a clever analogy to illustrate what a poor idea that is, but why not just try and not be sloppy and have just one take on each side? I mean, if you know what the problem is, why try do some psycho-acoustic roundabout way to fix it?

Ahh, ok thats cool. It wasn't a case of being lazy, but I'm kinda new at recording so I have no idea what is standard practise. So If I were to record separate takes for each side, what would be considered enough difference in tone to push those tracks wider again? I was thinking that having one with presence lower than the other might do it? Presumably Post-EQ might help. I've noticed that depending on how I set the low-mids and Hi-mids I can achieve a really thick growly tone or a very tight but thinner tone. Would the combination of Presence and EQ be enough, or will it just sounds crap?

This has been covered many times, but I'll say it again for emphasis. You may as well center-pan your one track and boost it +1.5 db, because that's all that's happening when you double it up.

You'll never get the double-tracked sound without performing 2 separate takes. All you can do by fx processing a duplicated track is create phase problems for yourself.

And remember: garbage in, garbage out.