Funk me

Vital Remains

Just a Man
Oct 12, 2005
In a big building
i am a metal guitarist as well as a funk guitarist. Can anyone recommend some good funk music. i cant get enough of it.
plase not that marvin gaye or "play that funky music white boy" shit.

thanks
VITAL REMAINS

dude believe it or not early red hot chilli peppers is pretty awesome.lots of funk thrown into the mix.uplift mofo party plan,freaky styley,and mothers milk all good stuff.I know you not wanna hear it but james brown 20 greatest hits is a great funk c.d. worth considering anyway.:D
honorable mentions-infectoous grooves(members of suicidal)
and mindfunk(early 90s band who had reed st.mark of celtic frost fame on drums):headbang:

Haven´t listened to much funk, but in the early eighties I enjoyed Prince Charles And The City Beat Band.

If funk rock is also OK, I´d recommend Mother´s Finest - I think their live album, simply titled "live", from 1979 is still their best, only surpassed by the recording of their Rockpalast-appearance in Essen in 1978 on the "Mother´s Finest at Rockpalast"-DVD.

Like a member said above: check out James Brown's 20 Greatest Hits. James Brown is not only the Godfather of Soul, he is also the Master of Funk; its originator. Songs like "Sex Machine, "Get Up Offa That Thing", "Get On the Good Foot", and "The Payback" are all top-notch, vintage funk songs done by the master himself.

Shortly, after James Brown started getting funky, Sly and the Family Stone followed that path. Although I don't consider them the ideal funk group, they still had a myriad of funk beats that anyone could groove to. A good example is "Poet", not the bombastic, frenetic funk done by J.B., but a much more relaxed beat, Larry Graham, the bassist for the band, carried the groove like no other.