Gear upgrade - need help

magillagorilla

New Metal Member
Jan 6, 2010
hey i'm very new to the recording scene and i would really like to be able to record my own stuff with a decent, heavy tone (i killed the prom queen, in flames, parkway drive, a day to remember type shit).

at the moment my "signal chain" (as i think i've seen it called)
My jackson DKMG Dinky -> Line 6 Spider III amp -> (via pod-out) Lexicon Lambda 4-track. And i record and mix it all in Cubase 5.

I can get a great tone from my amp when i'm practicing and jamming but as soon as i try n record with that set-up i get a very fuzzy, punch-less tone :(

I'd like to upgrade to some sort of set-up involving a mic (probably a shure sm57) what i want to know is:
A) is my current set-up good or bad and how could i improve it? (without going with a mic)
B) If it's a lost cause, What else besides a mic do i need to buy? (i know the general items i need, i'm more interested in particular brands etc to suit my mid-low budget)

anything else anyone can add would be appreciated :)

Hey, welcome to the forum. I'm guessing you may need to go down the Peavey route with the bands you mentioned. I wasnt a huge fan of the spider when I played it and I dont think it is really comparible to a true tube amp. That with a 57 and your well on your way. How are you recording the guitar? how many tracks?

hey mate, welcome in!

like norris said you want to go down the peavey route. i have a line 6 spider 2 combo and its a fine amp for jamming and playing small gigs but it wont cut it when it comes to making a professional recording. i strongly suggest you invest in a 4 x 12 cab and a tube head - you could start with maybe a peavey windsor and a ibanez tube screamer before the head.