Good in ear headphones?

Hey guys,

So I'm looking for a reward for myself if I get an 100 on one of my exams and an A on another test. I thought a nice pair of in ear headphones would do the job!

I currently have the Sennheiser px100 headphones, and they're great, but I'm looking for something that's in ear. I know in ear tends to not be as great, either lacks bass, or has too much, but I wasn't sure if any of you knew of any that were pretty balanced and could even work for some rough mixing. The Senneheisers I have are a good example.

My price range is sub $100. The lower, the better. I'm a poor college student you know! I'll also check for the lowest price for the best pair on eBay and whatever place sells em.

Thanks dudes!

whats the point of in ear headphones? they confuse me. Why would you want to bypass the pinna of your ear... something so important to the hearing process.

It's more because it's not so bulky, I can lay down on my side while reading and it won't hurt my ear flaps, and working out.

But otherwise, yes, you're right. That's why I'm going to have both pairs of regular and in ear.

I cannot recommend the Shure in-ear headphones enough. Their sound quality for the price is scary. I think you can find the lowest range for around 70 bucks or so.

whats the point of in ear headphones? they confuse me. Why would you want to bypass the pinna of your ear... something so important to the hearing process.
its a much more effective alternative to noise-cancelling headphones. The pinnae are mostly used in localization, so the in-ears do have a slightly "in your head" sound but its a cool and different sort of listening experience as opposed to normal earphones.

I use Etymotic Research ER6i's

Pretty good sound quality (I had another pair which were better imo, diff frequency response.. much more critical). I think they were like $150AU.

I can play my drums LOUD with my iPod on about 2/3 volume if you need a reference for noise cancellation.