Got myself into a FOH mess :P

Torniojaws

They call me Juha
May 15, 2005
Espoo, Finland
www.vortechmusic.com
Okay, we have a gig coming up in 2 months, but the catch is that there might not be a FOH guy available. So I will have to do it myself :lol: And of course I've never done that before :loco: Sound-wise I think I can cope, but there's some practical issues since I will be playing on stage :lol: :lol:

If/when the vocal mic starts to feedback uncontrollably, is it safe to just unplug the mic (probably a 57) from the XLR cable? Or will there be an earthshaking explosion in the PA?

And how can I make as sure as possible that there won't be feedback? Just EQ sweep before the show with the mic as close to the monitors as I believe the vocalist will be, and do some ridiculous cuts on those frequencies that do feedback? And how about the effect-side cures: gate? comp? Luckily the vocalist is quite loud, though.

The drums and electronics + bass and support guitar will come from backing tracks, so there's a little bit less danger of feedback. We will not be doing live reamping, as usual, since the venue doesn't have any backline available (just the console + PA, and some FX), and there are no other bands, and I only have a smart car to lug gear with :lol:

you could gate the vocal mic (not too harsh though) and roll off the feed-backing frequency on a 31 band eq but not too much that you make a clear missing frequency in the mix

And how can I make as sure as possible that there won't be feedback? Just EQ sweep before the show with the mic as close to the monitors as I believe the vocalist will be, and do some ridiculous cuts on those frequencies that do feedback? And how about the effect-side cures: gate? comp? Luckily the vocalist is quite loud, though.

Yes, this. Sweep out all the frequencies that cause feedback, both in the monitors and from FOH.