Guitar/Music questions

Zavut

Dec 23, 2004
Hey guys

I decided to ask some very broad questions here because I think the album Ink Complete is brilliant, and most of you seem to be musicians around here! Now, I have a fender squier series stratocaster, and I've been playing for about 8 months (I'm 16, started a bit late). I take lessons every saturday, so I'm learning some simple riffs, chords, picking patterns etc, and I picked up this book on musical theory, which I just started reading. Lessons are only a half hour, so there's only so much I can ask/write down in one session. I find the technical metal/crazy progressive/neo-classical stuff to be great, and I want to someday have a refined sound like that. So basically I want to know how many hours of practice/study I should aim for each day, what exactly is good to learn early on, how to get the most out of the time I spend learning, what not to overlook etc.

Hope some of you guys know where I'm coming from, any advice would be appreciated!

Well, I'm not a crazy progressive/technical metal person yet, so I don't know how much weight my statements carry. I've been going since November 2003, and I have a really great teacher. Anyway, I think that the best advice is that a shorter, focused practice, is far better than a drawn out, aimless practice. I do four instruments, so I do spread time out between them, but I still feel like I have achieved a lot and am improving doing an hour and a half to two hours of guitar a day, and focusing that practice. Sometimes if I just mess around and it turns out to be four hours, I don't feel nearly as satisfied as I would if I had focused more with the practice.