Guitar strings prefrence?

Best? Subjective.

Personal preference.

I use d'addarios... I have too many guitars, so I'm not really so choosy... whatever I can get the best price on.

I've been using GHS boomers for the longest time. They used to be the cheapest but would also sound really good. I'm not into detuning and all that anymore, so I usually go with 009-042 or 009-046.

I one of my bands, I used to mix and match strings from different sets. I think I had .052 for the thickest. However, it wasn't really worth all the trouble and expense, IMO. If you really can play, you can also sound damn heavy without detuning.

I don't have very much experience with different strings, but I use Gibson Flat Wires (.011-.051) at the moment, and I think they are really good.
About which gauge to use: well, I would say thats more a question of personal likings and maybe the tuning you play in.

I'm a shitty guitarist, so my opinion probably isn't worth a lot :)lol: ), but I've tried a few different kinds of strings to test them out, and most new strings I've put on sound just as dead as the ones I just took off..... Except for one. DR's. I use 10's. A fresh set of those absoluetely roars. The fifths and crunches just sound a thousand times sharper and cleaner. Goes away after a few days, but... eh... I like 'em.

Well I use Dean Markley Blue Steel 8-38 they are very thin and elastic but very strong too, stronger than d'addario : i used to braek a lot playing them but since i bought Blue steel i break less and in my country they are cheaper than d'addario

I've used almost every kind of string out there, and my favorite -by far- is the Elixer strings. They run about 5 to 10 dollars more than your D'addario's or other standard strings, but they last considerably longer and have a cleaner tone, feel and are smoother with slides thanks to their polyweb coat. Anyway, if you try em, I hope you like em, if not, Rock On regardless bud \m/