Guitar - Take Lessons or Teach yourself

synergy

tr00bie
Sep 2, 2003
Long Island
Visit site
Since I noticed that there are a lot of guitar players on this forum, I was just wondering what people on this board prefer - Taking lessons or teaching yourself. I noticed that most good guitarists have taught themselves to play. I just started playing and I chose to teach myself because It seemed better to be able to learn things at my own pace. Anyone else think so?

I learned it for myself fr two years, and in tha time i could have achieved much more with a teachern ,
i lost myself in tabs , and i cant listen anything out,that is very bad , because , i have to kinda start fronm the beginning.
A teacher will show you the fingersatz, dunno how called in english,and how you hold your pick correctly.
Take a teacher.
So don´t do Tabs they are pure evil.

Besides i would be interested if How MIkael land Peter learned to play, because they are fucking bad good

I taught myself but for the first couple of years couldn't really play much as I only picked up a guitar every now and then (now I play at least 2 hours a day and am in 2 bands). It may have taken longer but I hate having lessons and I can play the way I want.

well I took the evil way...taught myself AND used tabs. I'm sure a teacher would have helped, but I don't feel i'm too bad off. I focused entirely on rhythm so my lead playing it weak but I also spend lots of time on my own stuff. The plus side is i've found i'm a better songwriter and FAR better at coming up with ideas on the fly then most people I know. Maybe i'm not up there technically with the lead guys i've played with, but none of them have an ounce of creativity either. I can jam with my drummer on almost any style (yes, even death metal) for 45 minutes and we never repeat anything. And it even makes sense!