Guitarists

Vega

New Metal Member
Jul 29, 2003
Southport UK
Visit site
Hello,
This is my first post here so i'd just like to say heloo to everyone here. Well heres my question :

What stage are all you guitarists at in your guitar playin? eg how long have you been playin for and what techniques n stuff ?
Im 15 and i just wanted to see how everyone is gettin on with their guitar playin. Im up to sweep arpeggios and im tryin to avoid learning scales but i suppose ill have to have you got any advice?
Sorry for all the questions, feel free to cancel this thread if it is wrong.
Goodbye for now.

i have been playing for almost 2 years now, my advice is to learn as much as you can with the theory stuff, chords and scale relation, then after your comfortable with them focus on your techniques (sweep,alt pick,eco pick, tapping) each on its own and may god help ya hehe

Ive been playing since I was 8, but I got REALLY serious when i was 11 and heard Steve Vai for the first time. I used to go to a really crappy techer, but my dad's best frind (who is one of Australia's most respected session drummer in the industry) has introduced me to two really good teachers. They're both reallt top session jazz players, ones 18 and he does the more traditional way of teaching. I'm going through the burklee book series, and the other is a young surfie dude (Silent Realm will love this guy) who is in the band thonk ( www.getthonked.com ) who is more unorthodox and layd-back in his teaching. He teaches more improvisation and stuff while the other is more reading, theory ect..

I am 20 years old, playing Bass since late 1999 and guitar since mid 2000.