GUITARISTS: A quick question

Katalepsy

Aug 2, 2004
katalepsy.741.com
Okay, this may seem like a really strange question...But I wanted to know, how many of you guitarists use your pinky as you would all your other fingers on the fretboard? I have noticed a lot of people rarely or never use their pinky, and I'm thinking "Holy hell...that's just too weird." And I have been playing guitar for about 2 years and 3 months, but that inquiry just recently popped into my head.

Your pinky should be just as good as your other fingers.

In fact, I've started to do a lot of multi-finger tapping lately (not 8 fingers, since the index holds the pick, but 7, like Stephan Forté), and now I've finally managed to get my right hand pinky up to par with my other tapping fingers.

Just practice, and the strength and control will come.

Oh, I have no problem with controlling my pinky and using it as I would all my other fingers, but I'm just saying, a few of my friends don't use their pinky at all, and some guitarists like Timo Tolkki, I have noticed rarely use their pinky for stuff like solos.

Katalepsy said:
Oh, I have no problem with controlling my pinky and using it as I would all my other fingers, but I'm just saying, a few of my friends don't use their pinky at all, and some guitarists like Timo Tolkki, I have noticed rarely use their pinky for stuff like solos.

Both Mikes? :p

I have a very strong pinky that I can do all sorts of legato, etc with...oddly..it's stronger than my ring finger.

I actaully have to work my ring finger harder to keep up!

Just stick with it, use it often, and in time, you will be all over the place with it.