Guys, am I completely insane? (Career rant)

tempe

Captain Midnight
Sep 22, 2005
Perth, Australia
Alright first things first I'll give you guys a little bit of background. My name is Matthew Templeman and I've been running a small studio here in Perth, Australia for the last two years. Things have been going ok, and I've been scraping by. I've studied at SAE and like to think my work has been steadily improving. The long and short of it to me is though, there's just not enough happening in Perth for me to continue pursuing this job full time in this city. I think as a career its best to aim for the absolute top and I plan to get there one day. So ultimately considering my goal and my current location, I need to move.

Which is where the insanity starts, ultimately I need to move to one of the big four hubs of music production. The UK, New York, LA or Nashville. I'm not to fussed about the sort of music I work with so ultimately I'll take any job anywhere. What I'm looking at doing is saving and researching for the next year or two, then trying to make the intern / runner / assistant transition somewhere. This is a huge, huge decision however. As I can imagine there are 1 million other people just like myself hoping to do what I'm trying to do, but I'm ok with working hard enough to make it work.

Has anyone here made this transition? How did you go about doing it? What I'm really scared of is having to move somewhere and not being able to earn an income for a period of up to 18 months. Which means I need to save a serious amount of money.

Is there anything realistic about this at all? I'm ok with earning my dues / working for nothing / doing what I have to do to get there. Sure there might be more competition than ever, but there's got to be an opening somewhere.