Having trouble getting a clear mix (OLA Content)

JakeAC5253

Frozen Sun Audio
Nov 19, 2010
I am having trouble getting a clear mix with this Ola project, but I don't think this is project related because this problem comes up for me a lot when mixing. I get a great guitar tone that I like, and then when it comes time for mixing, I screw up the mix. I am not very good at mixing drums and making them sound professional, my guitar work is much better than my drum work, so I'd like to get better doing drums and putting the final touches on the mix. Here is my take on an Ola project which shows what I am talking about.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8838613/Ola Test 3.mp3

Just for reference, here is Ola's original mix:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8838613/ENGL Savage - Metal.mp3

First impressions? What jumps out first?

Didn't have much time so only gave it a quick listen, but first thing that was very noticable is that Ola's kickdrum is much clickier and middier than yours. Your kickdrum sounds like it's almost just bass frequencies, which makes it very muffled for a metalmix. Hope that's a good start :)

Didn't have much time so only gave it a quick listen, but first thing that was very noticable is that Ola's kickdrum is much clickier and middier than yours. Your kickdrum sounds like it's almost just bass frequencies, which makes it very muffled for a metalmix. Hope that's a good start :)

Cool, at least it's the same thing I am hearing over here. Might have to invest in better drum samples.

Here is a quick way to get clarity: find 1 or maybe 2 key frequencies for each instrument, making sure none of them overlap. Take out a few decibels from each of the other instruments for each frequency. You'll lose some punch, but you'll always get clarity.

Guitars are defo masking the drums. Cut, Cut, and CUT those guitars dude! Sounds like you can get away with a pretty healthy highpass of those guitars to let the kick shine through.