Help diagnosing problem with my Mark V

mva801

Nov 18, 2009
Hello!

So My Mesa Mark V has been having an issue lately. On the first (clean) channel only, after about 10 minutes of playing, it starts cutting out. Almost sounds like a loose cable for a second, then the volume drops to almost nothing. The other 2 channels seem to work alright. I've tried three different cables and three different guitars.

Could it be tubes? Something else? The head is about two years old. It hasn't gotten a ton of use (mostly just sitting at the studio)

I'm sure it's due for a tube change anyway. And while we're at it, I haven't been too happy with the sound of the distortion channels lately either. Seems to sound thin and grainy. I usually play it out of a rectifier 2x12.

I'm a drummer so I don't know much about guitar amp problems. I know you guys can probably help before I go ordering tubes or calling the Mesa repair guy in my area.

Thanks for any help dudes!

Hey man i dont want to guarantee that this is the problem since im not so good with technical issues, but i did have a similar problem (same head) where the volume would drop, and i would get some crackling.. i replaced V1 and it worked properly. Mine was new so you could still have tube issues regardless of the use; some just fail.

As to the distortion sounds i can help because mark series have a specific way of being dialed in if you understand the tone stack pre vs graphic post eq gain and what it means but of course as you already know the mark is pretty tight and that its character which will not sound as big as say a recto or 5150 no matter what you do. Im sorry as you probably know all that but i thought id mention it anyway.

Also what volume are u using? the character i find changes drastically as you turn the volume up (i know a lot of people say it can be used at bedroom volume with decent results but im not sure i really agree that much..)