Help me pick an acoustic-electric guitar (600 usd top)

Jan 10, 2011
Hey. I've been reading the forums for quite some time, then dropped everything related to making or playing music for med school. Long story short is I graduated and visiting New York. I want to get me an acoustic-electric but, since I've never owned one (always one electrics), I'm quite lost.

Here's what I have in mind
- 600 usd at most
- Cutaway
- Looking for a sort of "crispy" sound, closer to an electric guitar than to an acoustic one. I guess this is mostly achieve by metal strings and not nylon ones, but I guess there's gotta be more to This son may serve as an example:

I did do some research of my own, and came across these, but I just can't quite tell the differences or if there is one standing out more than the rest as I don't really know much about materials and whatnot:

Yamaha A1M Acoustic Electric Guitar | SamAsh
http://www.samash.com/acoustic-elect...ar-s034208xx-p
Takamine GD93CE-NAT Acoustic-Electric Guitar | SamAsh
Yamaha FSX730C Acoustic-Electric Guitar | SamAsh

As a side note, is there a whole lotta difference in sound/resonance between these 2 body shapes?:

Yamaha A1M Acoustic Electric Guitar | SamAsh
http://www.samash.com/acoustic-elect...itar-yac1mxxxx

First off, if you're buying this to record then just get straight acoustic guitar. No piezo or other electronic stuff. It sounds like shit compared to an acoustic guitar with a mic in front of it. Even for live, acoustic guitar and mic are the best way to go. Acoustic guitars are the most fickle when it comes to sound. Definitely play it before you pay for it. A great sounding acoustic guitar is truly a work of skillful artistry.

I have a Yamaha Compass CPX15N and it sounds amazing under a mic.
It has none of the ringy midrange that most acoustics have (even some expensive ones)
Generally stay away from Martin x series which horribly ring in the mids and Takamine G series which do the same.