Help. What amp should I get?

Predator Milk

New Metal Member
Jan 3, 2011
First new amp in a long time. What should I get? (I have sample tracks of my style)
At our last show the inevitable happened... my Line 6 spider II at dust hard. (please refrain from both line 6 and spider bashing... I know i know. I got this amp in highschool and it taught me to play guitar, I have come a long way since then). I had become very accustomed to the versatility of the spider II (if one is lax on tone, and I was).

I can replicate my effects situations with a boss GT series... but I have no idea what to do for an amp. Mesa double and triple rectifiers seem like an obvious solution to the gain settings I have come to like... and the Egnator renegade seems like just the amp for me for my clean channel settings.

I am very very very new to the world of tube amplifiers and Guitar Center pisses me off every time I go in there. What amps should I look at?

Here is what I play (demo tracks here http://www.nadiapero.com/liveinlogan.html). I recommend listing to Safarex, Camel Heat, Atlas and Balsamic Galbadia for a pretty good range of what we play, but please hear them all out as those tracks are nowhere near comprehensive. These demos were recorded with the spider II.

Please help!!! I don't know what to do! (my budget is about 1,500 and I would really like to include a Boss GT-10 in that amount if possible, but I don't want to cut to many corners).

well ya know Marshalls are popular..........

get out there and demo some amps, try out those you like....people can say go this or get that, but you really can't decide on that...go try em out

Yeah it's really all about personal preference. Test out as many as you can, but not necessarily all at once, everything can sound the same after hours of playing. Test out one amp a day and see which ones draw you back to play a second time. Thats the best method IMO.