Here's my plan

professorlamp

I are Joe
Nov 2, 2009
Wales, United Kingdom
I've been recording my own stuff at home for about 2 years now and in a couple of months im going to be recording a band (my friends one for practice)
this is my plan so far (tell me any suggestions or things i miss out)
1: better interface (profire 2626, just enough inputs for drums)
2:invest in some quality drum mics and overheads
3:get acoustic treatment then come back at a later date for advice :D
4: build an isolation booth to crank their amps (small village :( )
5: PRACTICE PRACTICE PRACTICE!

I was planning on doing a song for free to see how it would turn out, im expecting my first one with real drums to be TERRIBLE but i've read up alot on drums from this forum/magazines and university so hopefully not too bad.And if the recordings arent the greatest then they can have them for free but if they're good they can buy me a crate of beer or just give me a £10 or something. also this will be the first time im recording someone that isnt myself so takes the pressure off of me tracking myself.
Have i missed anything important out of the list that i need to equip myself with? or anything else that you'd just like to suggest

edit:sorry for the shit thread title

Well dude +1 on the profire.
Also since im guessing your doing all your work in one room maybe look into headphones that isolate good so you can monitor.
As far of tracking drums make sure you mic everything up nice (Look at different mic positions) and ofcoarse leave enough headroom!
also what mics do you have?

well im not gonna be using for tracking not mixing , mainly for drummers and loud peoplezzzzz

any suggestions for my first drum mic? on a budget so can't try loads i have £100
audix i5?
or any better ideas?
for now im gonna build up my mic collection for the kit

well im not gonna be using for tracking not mixing , mainly for drummers and loud peoplezzzzz