Hi.. and unfortunately i have to introduce myself under sad circumstances

shumik

May 24, 2006
I am a very big fan of heavy metal music. My favourite styles are mostly melodic death metal, thrash/groove metal, neo-classical and power metal.

I am a musician too - sort of... a crappy musician still, i've been playing guitar for less than 2 years. I like to play heavy metal music. I am not a Goth, or anything like that. However, I have long hair, I like to dress up like a metalhead wearing a band t-shirt from time to time, army pants and a biker jacket. I am a student at a university. I am from Toronto, Canada.

Now the sad part... Recently a shooting incident occurred in Montreal, resembeling Colombine Massacre, where a heavy metal fan shot some people dead at a college. This made me reassess my whole life, and my identity... whether I should retain this headbanger's image or not... the hair part is ok i guess... but i dont feel comfortable wearing the t-shirts anymore. I feel like from now on everyone who is into heavy metal will be stereotyped as a murderous psychopath, just like muslims are stereotyped as terrorists. I mean, I was looked down upon before - but I ignored it, and from now it will probably be way worse. On the radio all i hear today is that all the Goth and Metal culture must be eradicated and stuff like that by some stupid idiots in their 50+s. This really sucks.