home recording

Zehm

Aug 3, 2008
North Carolina
what's the minimum setup required to do some home recording?
i don't need anything for producing full demos. i just want to experament with vocl layering and counterpoint and such. also i expect it'll help me with precision.

I would say just a good microphone that you can hook up to a computer with some kind of recording software on it.
But I have no experience with home recording other than using an audio extractor with a video camera.

Audacity wouldnt be astart unless you were doing rough masters.

I do home recordings all the time.
www.myspace.com/groanuk
www.myspace.com/ministerbonesaw

These are done at minimal cost. I have a Line 6 Pocket POD, Mixcraft 4, EZDrummer (and various add ons) and a 50p desktop microphone. I do music technology propperly at college n such, but i cant afford a lot yet. me and Si from Covet Chaos are getting a few mics and an 8 track so we can record drums. But theres no need to buy a load of gear until you have the technique down and you can get the best possible sound as you can.

If you get the POD and use that, the tones may sound good to you when youve recorded them, but you could buy Amplitube, which is an awesome guitar amp emulator. Better than recording with some head amps id say. But basically, i wouldnt ever use it for distortion, ever. Just get rid of all the pedals and amps and racks on there but use the cab. Having a good cab tone on there is very helpful and makes the tone so much better. Another thing you could do is buy this http://recabi.net/site/trybuy/ It isnt software but it runs through things like Altiverb and works off impulses, great cab sounds.