How do u do sweeps?

Well unfortunetly man they are one of the hardest techniques that I have certainly tried. Ive been practising them for around 6 months now, and I still can only 3 string sweeps and 5 sting when Im lucky. So the most important thing if you are going to begin to try these out. Is that you have a LOT of patience.

Basically the best thing to start with is working on 3 string sweeps. To get your right hand and left in sink together.

So try going from:
the 15th fret on the G
to the 14th on the B
to the 12th fret on the E

Keep doing this over and over. Until you can do it at a good speed and can hear each note individually.

How long have you been playing for so far mate?

I can honestly say that even though I bash people here for admiring Alexi Laiho so much.....he was the reason why I started practicing sweeps those years ago. My patience of course has paid off...thank you Mr. Laiho for being an inspiration!

its not THAT hard, you just need a good coordination between your left and right hand. one word of advice though, don't "muscle" through the strings, keep your right wrist relaxed and let the pick smoothly glide between the strings. feels more natural once you get it down.

and the world's best sweep picker has to be John Petrucci. his right hand technique in general is just out of this fkn world.

delt said:
its not THAT hard, you just need a good coordination between your left and right hand. one word of advice though, don't "muscle" through the strings,

I agree. The actual picking isn't that hard, it's getting it to work with the fret hand. Focus on the fret hand and not letting notes ring together, and keep it relaxed.