How frequently do you change your strings ?

Plendakor

Oct 30, 2010
I mean, with my Ibanez it's quite easy and fast to change. I should change them more often. And earlier today I was like, the fuck, I stopped smoking a few years ago and those cigarette packs cost almost twice the price of an Ernie Ball 10-46 here. But still, I don't change them as often as once every two months. But it will change. Fuck, I used to smoke a pack a day. (But i'm a poor student)

For casual playing? Once every couple of months or so. Current set has been on for about three months though. No real point in changing them when I'm not really recording anything.

This year I bought a guitar with a locking trem and started using it as my main instrument so not as much as I should heh. PITA to change strings especially when not recording anything. I do have sweaty hands so it sucks to have to do it after about 8-10 hours of just casual jamming, which for me takes a few weeks. Ideally I'd do it every two weeks based on my sweat output but usually I'll wait 2 months if I haven't been playing more than normal. Just put my last set of Heavy Core dunlops on about a week ago, already needs new ones.

If I'm just messing around I change them whenever they start to feel a bit dead/dull. Normally every 3 months or so (I have 6 guitars and honestly don't play them often enough!)
Always put new strings on for recording anything serious though.

While recording: when they lose their zing (usually once a day).
While noodling around: changing strings? I thought those things were permanent!

If only rehearsing with the band...a couple of months, when the lack of tension becomes a problem.
If there are any gigs, the week after.
Recording? everyday if possible.

Always before recording anything serious. If I'm just recording demo ideas at home I don't worry about it. Other than that, when they start to feel dead. Always the day before a gig.