How many fingers...

ShredManWalking

Hit man for the Order
Dec 5, 2002
Kent State University
listen.to
Okay, this is a question for all you bassists. :wave:
I've been playing guitar for ten years. However, I am now a bass player in a progressive metal band. This was the only way for me to play this style in a band, because I have not found interested, dedicated musicians who like the stuff until now. (They already have a guitar player! Oh, well. I'll just keep shredding anyway, practicing in my room...) To tighten my right hand up, the band has me working on some Iron Maiden, Dream Theater, Fates Warning and Queensryche stuff, as well as tons of their originals... I am comfortable using two fingers on my right hand, but I hear Steve Harris from Maiden uses three for his galloping bass-lines. I also hear that the bassist of Iced Earth uses all four... I have tried with all of these, and fell equally comfortable. What is the most efficient?

Well, I haven't really heard anyone use 4 fingers before (the pinky is not only much shorter but weaker than the other fingers) but 3 seems to be the most efficient way of playing bass. I'd suggest getting John Myung's instructional video. A bass player friend of mine showed it to me once and he talks a lot about his right hand technique.

The Myung video is pretty good if you're into scales and such. It also covers some good finger techniques. (heheee, finger techniques... :D )

And Steve Harris uses only two fingers. Check any Maiden live video or video, I believe he has also said so himself in an interview.