hum/ground noise

Dexter_prog

New Metal Member
Apr 5, 2006
Buenos Aires, Argentina
I live in an apartment and the fucking building does not have a proper ground connection (or however it is called), as many other buildings in my stupid country. So whenever I use distortion I get this fucking hum/ground noise and I was wondering if there's any way to get rid of it. Here are two examples (one while playing and the other one while not playing and without a noise gate)

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1643345/zz99 - Misc Shit/jävla hum.mp3

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1643345/zz99 - Misc Shit/jävla hum no noise gate.mp3

DIs: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1643345/zz99 - Misc Shit/DIs.rar

Is there anything I can do?

Oh, by the way, the stupid search limiter on this forum (ultimate metal, not specifically the Andy Sneap forum) doesn't allow me to search words under 4 letters so I can't search "hum". Stupid rule.

I work as a ship-electrician at the moment, and to avoid ground-loops etc on sensitive systems, we use an isolating transformer or a UPS ... Often UPS's are called "Clean power" .. I remember when I worked on a big passenger ship here on the coast of Norway, there were NO radio noise or ground loops (I did get the time to record some DI's through ampsims etc, was able to play with max gain without the slightest noise)! Someone should try to build a studio in a ship some day, the steel walls makes the gear sing like a bird :D heh.. a little off-topic though, beer ;)

Why not try to eliminate the problem at the source rather than fixing it with a plugin that could screw up your sound?

ebtech hum eliminator dude - google search it. Doesn't seem to affect the sound in anyway. I'm pretty sure its just 2 isolated transformers... I dunno - works a charm though ;)

I had a hum problem so I purchased the ART DTI and all's well now :)
When I connect that to Argentinian electricty (using a transformer), wouldn't the ground noise still be there?