hum/ground noise

I used Reafir in Reaper to get rid of the hum, If you sit in front of a computer while you record, that will make a humming sound because of the waves it gives off, any kind of fluorescent lights will also create the noise as well.

dexter maybe if you trying whit a usb interface? i have one but dont have a laptop... i will try to find one to do the experiment that wolefeman mentionend ...

I used Reafir in Reaper to get rid of the hum, If you sit in front of a computer while you record, that will make a humming sound because of the waves it gives off, any kind of fluorescent lights will also create the noise as well.
How exactly? I've never used that plugin. I tried moving away from the computer with no changes whatsoever

dexter maybe if you trying whit a usb interface? i have one but dont have a laptop... i will try to find one to do the experiment that wolefeman mentionend ...
I don't have a USB interface nor do I know someone that has one :/

I work as a ship-electrician at the moment, and to avoid ground-loops etc on sensitive systems, we use an isolating transformer or a UPS ... Often UPS's are called "Clean power" .. I remember when I worked on a big passenger ship here on the coast of Norway, there were NO radio noise or ground loops (I did get the time to record some DI's through ampsims etc, was able to play with max gain without the slightest noise)! Someone should try to build a studio in a ship some day, the steel walls makes the gear sing like a bird heh.. a little off-topic though, beer

I seem to have missed that post, so buying an UPS would fix it? So I connect all my computer cables to the UPS and then the UPS to the electricity (which has no "to ground" in this damn building) and that wouldn't start the cycle again? I'm sorry for the constant question but I am a newbie concerning electricity and UPSs are expensive so I gotta be 100% sure :p