I cannot roll the R

Fenrisúlfr

ὁ δύσκος λύκος
May 14, 2008
США
In the video Olli posted, in order to say 'Turisas' properly, one must roll the R, but try as I might, I cannot do this.

Can anyone tell me how they do this, or does it just occur naturally?

R is a funny sound. It depends a lot on your native language. Unless you learn the sound at a young age, you're stuck whith what your native language has to offer. I started learning English at age 6 and my R is sort of OKish, I started French at 14 and my R is really flimsy.

cheers,
wm_crash, the friendly hooligan

well, you can always still learn it if you practice enough...surely it´ll never sound like from a native speaker, but still better than no rolling R at all ;)

Or take singing lessons just to learn the R. :lol: The expensive way.
There's a common warming up exercise where you go like "rrrrrriiii rrrrraaaa rrrrruuuuu"... :rofl: I hate that.

hahaha now that would really be an expensive way of doing it XD
when I started my finnish lessons we were SO forced to learn it...and mine still sounds like...crap XD

Everyone practice your rolling R's: cRRRRRap . . . cRRRRRRRRRRRRRRap . . . cRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRap

Now get a stopwatch and time the length of your roll; then post your result here. Anyone with excessive claims needs to post a vid of the achievement.

cheers,
wm_crash, the friendly hooligan

Just practice. Sit there in your bedroom and roll R's on every word you can think of, even if it sounds ridiculous.
When I started learning Swedish, I caught onto rolling the R's very quickly but I may have gotten used to the sound (and I tried to practice it) when I spent time in Finland.

Me neither, when I try it seems to come from the back of my throat rather than with my tongue =/ Makes it harder to insert rrrr's in the middle of words! It just drowns the entire word in 'r'

It's pretty easy if you're from the Netherlands.

Btw, there are 2 ways to roll it.