I need a new MAC - questions inside.

J the TyranT

Thats just how it is...
Dec 14, 2001
LV
Alright guys, as some of you know, my G5 shit itself back in May or June...

I need a new MAC to do some recording on. Im not a pro at this at all, although I'd like to be able to grow into something and MAYBE in the future get good enough to make a few bucks helping some locals with demos, etc etc.

I also need a laptop at some point, so Im wondering if I can kill two birds with one stone... in that if a Macbook Pro is going to be powerful enough to run shit like Pro Tools 8 and EZdrummer, Waves PI's, etc etc. You get the point.

So can I get away with just running all that from a laptop or do I need a Mac Pro, and, does anybody know where/how to get -somewhat- of a deal?

LASTLY. On my G5, its the logic board that's dead, not the hard drive... Im assuming I'd somehow be able to transfer all my data from the HD to an external to use with a laptop?

Thx in advance.

- J

PS. Im officially selling the Les Paul for this shit... its just got to be done. Oh well.

You'll be able to transfer the stuff on your HD to any computer that can read the files (so a Mac would do) - just plug it in and you're done.

One 'deal' I'm aware of is through the Apple Developer Connection - you should be able to get a bunch of stuff cheaper if you sign on for the Student membership (note: may require being a 'student' of some sort, but that's easy to work around), which will cost around $100 and should easily save you much more than that. Unless you're willing to go used, that's all I'm aware of.

Jeff

I'd find an older model MBP - with the FireWire 400 & 800 slots. Mine is still going strong and I use it all the time, for daily computing and recording alike.