mac osx question

since i departure from windows to osx right now i'm used to have my main drive partitioned as "system" and "local storage" since on windows systems you do better store all your basic data (like: in/out-voices, office stuff, little mp3 folder, text data, backups of program data(email, cubase fx presets), basically everything you'll need to keep when deleting the system to reinstall) on another hard drive/partition.

i can see the major problem with using two partitions and using one as "system" and one as "audio drive", but this wouldn't be what i aim for. i would rather use a fire wire or usb2 drive as "audio drive" then my secondary partition on the internal drive.

actually i don't know if usb2 is fast and stable enough to handle daw stuff but firewire will be.

so this would be my plan right now (don't forget i'm new to osx and open for any kind of suggestion that might help my system run better):

internal drive 320gb: partitionA150gb=system, partitionB150gb=basic data
external FW drive: audio drive (daisy chain with motus )
external USB2 drive: time machine (theres a usb2 hub involved)

I think i need to clarify,

I have 3 partitions on my internal drive, "OSX" , "Vista", and "Storage".

the Storage partition is used for storing sample libraries and other resources.
it is not used as a record drive, right now im recording straight to the OSX partition, not ideal i know, but it sure as hell works.

the whole point of this arrangement is that i can erase and re-install any one of the operating systems without losing close to 200Gb of samples and all the other data in the "Storage" partition.

next on the GAS list is a 1.5TB internal drive for recording :)

DSS3, your worries are unfounded, having files on a seperate partition is no different to having a slightly fragmented hard disk. the files are just located at different places in the drive.