I need advice on my latest mix.

decadawn

Aug 31, 2001
www.decadawn.com
Hey guys, I'm new in here..

I've been working on my album since a couple of months.. we recorded the drums in a studio in Montreal. The sound tech is a rookie so the micing may not be as good as I wanted it to be. Anyway... The bass/vocals/leads are missing

Since we couldn't get a good result micing an amp for the guitar sound, I decided to record everything at home.

I used a PodPro for the guitars.

http://pages.infinit.net/theogony/sample.mp3

Oh and the band name is Decadawn. This should come out this summer.

I'd love to read your opinions concerning the mix and the sound. What should I change? I'm a rookie in recording too.

Thanks a lot! o_O

First off - If you're in Montreal doing this kind of metal why aren't you recording with Pierre Remillard? His new studio is amazing. I got a tour when I was visiting Martin for the final Obliveon show. I'm sure he's even got more cool shit in there now...

As for your mix, the guitars definately say, "MODELLED" to me. Just a flatness to them that you can't avoid unless you mic up a tube amp.

That said, they sound good. The different parts are all distinct and they're well balanced with the drums.

The snare sounds great, the kick has a good tone but lacks some of the low punch. The toms are really flat -- kick them up with a Waves MaxxBass plugin set to "Aggressive" and put some scoopy eq on them -- pull 1K with a wide Q down until it sounds good. Push 5k with a wide (but not a wide as 1K) Q up until that sounds like thunder... if it's not thunderous enough put some reverb on it a set the pre-delay long so you get the attack separate from the decay. These settings should push you more toward the Nevermore "DHiaDW" and/or Exodus "TotD" tom sounds.