I need some help with my MIDI sound!!!

Emil Landin

Jan 27, 2002
Böle, Sweden
www.swedishmetal.net
Maybe someone who is into this can answer because it's really important for me...

I'm a musician who creates songs on my computer. Unfortunately my MIDI sound sucks. I use those simple programs which use MIDI as playback... Is there better programs who doesn't use MIDI???

I've some wave-files that other people have sent me where you can hear their MIDI sound... And their sound kick ass! It almost sound like it is recorded with real instruments. My question is: "How can you make your MIDI sound better" Some use Sound Fonts to get a really good sound, but what exactly is Sound Fonts and how do you use it???

Otherwise from that can you use software to make your midi better?

It would be really good if someone know an answer to my provblems! Thanks!!!

/Emil Landin

Well i use VST instruments in Cubase... it samples wavs or whatever in place of the midi notes...

So sometimes it IS real instruments, like in the case of drums, its just whenever a midi bass drum is triggered it knows to play the wav file of a bassdrum instead.

As for sound fonts i believe those are different sets of midi sounds, so your soundcard has to accept soundfonts, and then it uses that bank of sounds instead of the ones on the card. This is something that has to be set up with the card itself, i think.. and then all midi programs wont need any special plugins or setting up. but my soundcards have never supported it so i dont know for sure.

Originally posted by YaYo
As for sound fonts i believe those are different sets of midi sounds, so your soundcard has to accept soundfonts, and then it uses that bank of sounds instead of the ones on the card. This is something that has to be set up with the card itself, i think.. and then all midi programs wont need any special plugins or setting up. but my soundcards have never supported it so i dont know for sure.