I think I pick strangely

Dec 10, 2012
Washington, DC
Not totally recording-related, but hopefully you guys can offer some advice anyway.

I'm about 60% self-taught and I've been playing for a long time, but most of the time I pick with my hand in a fist shape. I can pick with my fingers stretched out, but as you can see here, it makes certain parts (especially legato runs and sweep picking) much more difficult. I'm trying to practice so I'm less sloppy when I record, so it's kind of hampering me. Does anybody else do this, or am I just a freak of nature?

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm the opposite, I can't pick without my other fingers touching somewhere on the guitar body or the higher strings (if picking on the low ones). Because otherwise, when playing while walking or moving, I cannot keep my marks.

Also :

X0DMT.jpg

I always have my fingers out,with my pinky rested underneath the bridge pickup, kinda like John petrucci

Also marty friedman has the weirdest fucking picking style i've ever seen

Huh, interesting. Sounds like there's some variation. Also, while I'm at it, when you guys sweep pick, do you really rest on the next string when you're going back up again at the end of the arpeggio? I.E., in the commonly used major sweep pattern that goes:

E 12
B 13
G 12
D 14
A 15
E X

When you're sweeping back up, from the high E to the A, do you actually rest the pick on the low E when you hit that final A before starting the phrase again, or do you sort of just hover in-between the strings? It's tripping me up and I'm not sure if it would be helpful to learn or totally useless.

Friedman also uses (used ?) a lot of alternating picking, probably by choice, which made a lot of his sound in his megadeth era. His solos are a bunch of notes all over the place that sound so good together with his own touch.