1 pick, 2 picks, 3 picks, 4 - A Guitar Pick Review

urinebath

Terminal E
Jun 5, 2007
Cleveland, OH
www.myspace.com
Hey Everyone! I'm a noob to the forum, so I first wanted to say there is some fantastic info on this site. I didn't know where people were putting gear reviews so I hope this is alright.

Ok now the good stuff. In my search for better picking I came upon the first post about the JazzIII's. I've been retarded insane with Paul Gilbert lately going through his instructional DVD's and what not, so I broke down my picking problem to the picks. My primary guitar is a 6 String Schecter006, but I got a 7string Omen a few months back which has become my main home practice guitar. Plays great after a few mods.

So in my own test of different picks I purchased 5 different types and here's my review.
Picks:
  • Dunlop Red Nylon - J3's
  • Dunlop Black Stiff - J3's
  • Ibanez Sand Grip Wizard - Heavy
  • Dunlop Ultex Standard .73
  • Dunlop Ultex Standard 1.0

I picked a simple scale pattern, arpeggio and some chunky ryhthm riff and used the different picks with the same patterns.

Alternate Picking
I'll start with the J3's Nylon. First impression with the Red, very thick, small in finger grip. Alternate picking became instantly more defined and actually effortless to be consistent on all strings. The small size of the pick was bizarre at first but became very easy to adjust to. If you're not used to thicker picks then you better stretch out your picking hand.

Black J3's. One would think since it's the same brand but different color they should be the same. Well I guess there's some difference in the actual materials it's made out of. The black one's felt less bulky between the fingers but played just as good as the Red ones.

Dunlop Ultex Standard .73 and Dunlop Ultex Standard 1.0