I'm About to Start Recording - Advice Needed

Adari

Praise King Haake!
Sep 24, 2010
London, UK
Hello everyone,

As the title says, I'm a total noob and want to start recording, but I'm faced with a huge choice of options and products. I'm 15 years old, and I've been playing guitar for over 8 years and piano for 6 years. My primary genre is metal, but I also enjoy jazz-fusion and many other types of music.

I plan on recording using the Ola Englund Method (the method shown in his two tutorials on Youtube). Not only is Ola my greatest musical influence, but his recording process seems simple and cost-effective.

What I have:

Guitars
Amp (Blackstar HT-5)
Midi-enabled keyboard
Computer (Windows Vista, 2.4 GHz, 4GB RAM)

What I need:

USB/MIDI interface
Microphone (for cabinet - I can't sing)
Monitors (can be headphones)
Other stuff (please tell me what)

I'll probably buy a cheap bass and record by line-in (as on Ola's tutorial), and I think I'll use Reaper and EZDrummer, unless alternate software is bundled with my interface.

My budget is about £350 (flexible). I plan to buy an Audix i5, because it's £25 cheaper than an SM57. I'll also buy a mic-stand, so I can get the mic placement sounding good.

As for interfaces, these are the ones I'm currently considering:

http://www.andertons.co.uk/interfac...-us122-mk2-usb-2-audio-and-midi-interface.asp

http://www.andertons.co.uk/interfac...-us144-mk2-usb-2-audio-and-midi-interface.asp

http://www.thomann.de/gb/presonus_audiobox_usb.htm

http://www.thomann.de/gb/maudio_fast_track_pro.htm

http://www.thomann.de/gb/focusrite_saffire_6_usb.htm

Please tell me if any of these are right for me, or recommend alternatives (preferably cheaper).

I know nothing about monitors, but I want them to be as cheap as possible.

Please help me out.

If you've not got acoustic treatment then you're most likely better off with some decent headphones. Audio Technica ATHM50's are pretty good and about £100.