Im getting my first guitar tomorrow!!

i started playing guitar a few months ago

some advice

get guitar pro and www.mysongbook.com for tabs, if u wanna learn a song, start with deep purple - smoke on the water, i can play bits of bodom but no where near full speed :p

www.cyberfret.com is a good site, especially for learning techniques

get a dunlop tortex 1mm pick (blue), my first pick was a shite one by stagg, got this dunlop tortex and found out its the one metallica and other popular guitar's use, they are really nice, next time i pass a guitar shop i'll be popping to find a dunlop jazz II and III to see what they are like, and also get a dunlop tortex .88 and a 1.1mm, avoid the .50 its way to flexable, i got a .73 used to like it, i think its too flexable now and i mostly use the 1mm

stick with it, starting is the hardest bit is starting guitar, i was on and off the thing every few weeks, but i play it alot more often now

oh ye learn a bit of music theory too, like playing in scales and stuff, else all the riffs u invent will sound like shite :p

oh and teacher wise, i aint never had a teacher but get one that will teach u metal, u dont wanna end up learning jazz or something

KenShiRo said:
i started playing guitar a few months ago

some advice

get guitar pro and www.mysongbook.com for tabs, if u wanna learn a song, start with deep purple - smoke on the water, i can play bits of bodom but no where near full speed :p

www.cyberfret.com is a good site, especially for learning techniques

stick with it, starting is the hardest bit is starting guitar, i was on and off the thing every few weeks, but i play it alot more often now

oh ye learn a bit of music theory too, like playing in scales and stuff, else all the riffs u invent will sound like shite :p

oh and teacher wise, i aint never had a teacher but get one that will teach u metal, u dont wanna end up learning jazz or something