I'm new to IRs, please help.

ibanezman93

New Metal Member
Nov 17, 2010
I'm running a MacBook Pro with ProTools LE 8 and a Digidesign 003. I've downloaded the demo version of Mellowmuse's IR1A convolution reverb plugin so that I could load the GuitarHacks impulses I found on this message board. I'm running a line out of the effects send from a solid state Ampeg VH140C with all knobs about noon into the DI port.

I've gone through the IRs I downloading and none of them seem to sound right. The tone I'm getting is incredibly harsh, fizzy, and has too much gain. I've tried adjusting the gain and EQ on the amplifier, but it doesn't help. I thought perhaps it was the headphones I'm using, but I get the same problem with two other pairs of headphones.

I must be doing something wrong. I'm opening IR1A, clicking "load" and selecting the IR in the browser. It definitely changes the sound so there is something being done, but why is everything still so fizzy?

The guitar, amplifier, and hardware are in great condition and I use them everyday, so the problem is somewhere in my recording software. I've also experimenting using Amplitude 3 with a stock setting, and simply turning the amp model off, so that the VH140C preamp comes through the cabinet/mic simulations, which sounds really good, not harsh at all like the IRs.

Hi,
Be sure to set the plugin 100% Wet (Dry knob at -inf and Wet knob at 0).
I'm pretty sure the issue comes from this, you hear a blend of the dry and wet signals.

Hi,
Be sure to set the plugin 100% Wet (Dry knob at -inf and Wet knob at 0).
I'm pretty sure the issue comes from this, you hear a blend of the dry and wet signals.