important pickup question

Helloween

Journeyman
Jun 3, 2004
Canada
i have a few questions... im quite new to playing guitar, ive been playing for 8 months and this saturday im getting my jackson ke3 but i heard the pickups on that guitar suck... so i was planning on getting some emg 81's but apparantly they arent good for a clean sound and im wondering if the 85's are good for a clean sound cause i dont want pickups only good for distortion cause i like playing some clean stuff like fade to black and so on... so if i were to get an 81 and an 85 where would the best place be to put them?

85 --> neck
81 --> bridge

I own a Jackson Kelly myself, but an old one with Jackson pickups, and I might make the exact same pickup move.
This guitar is so sexy.

All EMGs can do clean sounds. They aren't high enough output to overdrive a clean amp, like the DiMarzio X2N does.

The EMG 81 is the most dead sounding pickup you can find - not good for clean parts and leads IMO. The 85 has a lot more attitude and low end. I would use the 85 in both bridge and neck positions, but that's me.

damn now im in a dilema... i just read that it sounds awsome with the 85 in the bridge and the 81 in the neck... but whats a good emg for lead other than an 81? is a 60 any good?

You're new to playing right? What kind of amp are you playing through? If you have a shitty amp, new pickups aren't going to fix your tone. I really wouldn't worry about it yet. Save the cash, go to a guitar shop and play a ton of different guitars with different pickups and see whats sounds good. Years ago I also "needed" EMG's but now I don't even like the tone, too cold for me. Don't buy into the name alone, play everything, Listen and compare.

oh awsome you have a good point, i do have a very shitty 15 watt fender amp right now... im in a band and im gonna try and get a 100 watt marshall for christmas but yeah i guess your right and i should wait, thanks