Impulse Loader selection

H-evolve

Apr 21, 2014
Montreal, Canada
Hi all,

I am new at mixing/recording, so I am spending a lot of time reading this forum and a lot of other stuff, in order to learn about the subject.

But I still have some unanswered questions and though I should registrer to the forum and ask.

My first question is regarding impulse loader. I see that a lot of people use free softwares, such as keFIR, but I also hear about paid softwares, like Recabinet.

I saw a lot of people saying that, the Impulse Loader, free or not, should produce the same sound if you load the same .wave file to it. I did the test, between keFIR and Recabinet, using the same file, and it is FAR from producing the same sound. I tried playing with the settings in Recabinet a little bit, and it really seems like the difference is just there, it's not just a question of settings.

I even saw youtube videos where you clearly hear NO between one loader and the other. But there are other videos where you clearly hear that there IS indeed a difference.

So, I feel a bit lost... Who's right? My personal test makes me think that there is, but perhaps I did something wrong, or I'm missing something...

In case it is needed, my current setup is:

- LTD ZH-7
- Native Instrument Komplete Audio 6
- Reaper
- TSE TS808
- LePou LE456
- keFIR or Recabinet

Are you using the same impulse and then also making sure all the settings inside the loader are the same?

I've only used a few in my time. NadIR and LeCab. Both work great and maybe it's time I do an actual comparison between the 2.

Are you using the same impulse and then also making sure all the settings inside the loader are the same?

I've only used a few in my time. NadIR and LeCab. Both work great and maybe it's time I do an actual comparison between the 2.