Is there a such thing as the "best" IR Loader?

dboy1612

New Metal Member
Jul 22, 2014
I really do hope this doesn't sound like a stupid question, but I'm new with Guitar Impulses and am getting a little lost on the mass amount of tools and freely made IRs out there.

Is there a such thing as the "best" or atleast "better" impulse loader? Currently on a Mac I've given LeCab2, kefIR, nadIR, and the one built in the TSE X50v2 a shot so far (am thinking of trying SIR2). The issue where I get lost is I don't know what the end result of the impulses are supposed to be and if the loaders are "ruining" them. Do some cut hi EQ? Do some add too much low end for whatever reason? Are some letting through more then they should?

Again, I'm new too all of this. Any bit of advice is helpful. Thanks. :)

Some people say there is but ive never noticed a difference between any of them. If there is a difference its incredibly small, not enough to make you consider one over the other. I use NadIR for everything and the X50v2 one when im using that amp. I use them simply because they are incredibly easy to use and I like the way they look.

I hate nadIR and can't get it to work on my DAW, which is weird since I rarely have compatibility issues and every other plugin Ignite has ever made is amazing. I use the Recabinet cabs often so it's my go-to choice, and it has a large interface for selecting the impulse. X50 is great too, since it's become my standard guitar sim. I don't think many add any sonic anomalies. FWIW, I would go with Recab because you can load two at a time, plus speaker dynamics simulation, plus a built-in eq for each impulse, which is a godsend for reducing latency and clutter.

Loaders are one trick ponies and they all sound exactly the same unless there's some kind of post-processing in the plugin. I believe there isn't with most, if not any, loaders.