In Flames guitar to rehab.

Wyvern

Master of Disaster
Staff member
Nov 24, 2002
I don't care about the band, but I liked the guy when he was in Hammerfall and Sinergy.

From their website:

As some may or may not know, Jesper has struggled for some time with alcoholic abuse, and decided to sit this one out (South America/Australia/Japan) in order to seek help and focus on rehabilitation and all that comes with it.

We all talked about it and together with Jesper we chose to ask our longtime friend Niclas Engelin, who helped us before, to complete the tour.

We are all sad that it needed to come to this, but health comes first.
Thanx for your understanding.

Jesper,Peter,Anders,Daniel & Björn

As long as he doesn't say alcoholism is a disease I'm content.

Hope him well, alcoholism's a helluva habit to kick. :kickass:

I work as an alcohol/drug counselor you can argue it as a disease or as not a disease to death. The fact is it's a compulsion that gets out of control as a direct result of one's loss of control. Good for him for getting himself back on track.

I work as an alcohol/drug counselor you can argue it as a disease or as not a disease to death. The fact is it's a compulsion.

It's all down to the definition. If you define disease in the medical sense (ie. cancer) then it is absolutely not a disease.

If you define disease as a "plague upon society" then, okay, fine. And yes, you're right, it's a compulsion that fits under the category of addition and dependency. There are often psychological and social factors that lead to alcoholism but it can be controlled by NOT drinking. You can't stop having cancer (not in that way anyways), hence it does not meet the med. definition.

Hey, if you don't mind me asking, do you use the 12-step stuff and/or anti-alcohol drugs?

It's all down to the definition. If you define disease in the medical sense (ie. cancer) then it is absolutely not a disease.