Is good gear really going to make my mixes sound better?

ballstix

Jul 5, 2009
Portland, OR
I've been relying on my 30 dollar computer speakers, a mid-range audio interface and ampsims / drum machines for all of my recording. I've heard some damn good mixes from people with similar gear on here, but I can't for the life of me achieve what I want; basically, I'm a beginner. I have problems identifying what is wrong with a mix and what to do about those issues; would reference monitors, for instance really illuminate inconsistencies/bad sounds/what have you, or is quality gear more for going from good mixes to great mixes? I feel like it might, but I also feel that I should warrant expensive purchases with something to show for myself first

Obviously there is a place for high-end gear, but will it be beneficial to a novice?

I would say get some experience to begin with. Work the shit out of your equipment and when it starts to sound good you can benefit from upgrading speakers, preamps, mircophones etc.

Or at least your first buy should be a decent set of headphones. Not to expensive piece of equipment and you will probably use them more than you think.

those might be some shitty 30 dollar speakers you are working with, but if you KNOW those speakers and what they sound like, then you can probably get a mix to sound good. You could also achieve some great sounds with drum machines and amp sims. There is a ceiling you are going to hit with this gear eventually, but since you say you are a beginner, it might be best to learn with what you got.

on the other hand.... if you got some money you want to spend.... why not