I've just received a live engineer job offer

::XeS::

Mar 30, 2005
Italy
www.myspace.com
As the title says, this evening I received this job offer from a band I've to record the next months (opened for aborted, misery signals, etc..):
"How much do you want to be our live sound guy?"
I'm really stocked because I've never done this before...but at the same time I'm really pleased.
The offer is only for the "big" gig (small club venues), not for the 8x8 rooms of course....
What do you think about it? Do you think I need any particular equipment (the venues have mixers I suppose) apart some mics?
I haven't decided yet, because I don't know if it worths the effort (they are 18yr old so they can't pay lot of money)...anyway I'm getting some info

As the title says, this evening I received this job offer from a band I've to record the next months (opened for aborted, misery signals, etc..):
"How much do you want to be our live sound guy?"
I'm really stocked because I've never done this before...but at the same time I'm really pleased.
The offer is only for the "big" gig (small club venues), not for the 8x8 rooms of course....
What do you think about it? Do you think I need any particular equipment (the venues have mixers I suppose) apart some mics?
I haven't decided yet, because I don't know if it worths the effort (they are 18yr old so they can't pay lot of money)...anyway I'm getting some info

Have you ever run live sound before? It's a different beast than doing studio work

When I do one offs with bands I always take my own mic package (minus vocal mics), and a rack with comps, gates, and at least 1 effects unit. The clubs SHOULD have all this already, but just in case they don't I'm prepared.

Any live sound guys want to chime in? I'm interested in knowing the difference.

Any live sound guys want to chime in? I'm interested in knowing the difference.