Just got VTM and VCC, here's a quick A/B

Markdude

May 24, 2008
Austin, TX
simplehomerecording.com
DISCLAIMER: I'm a novice and I definitely suck compared to most of you here, so take my opinion (and my clips) with a grain of salt, lol.

Hey guys,

I just bought Slate Digital's Virtual Console Collection and Virtual Tape Machines plugins. Well, technically I haven't officially gotten them yet (I bought a used iLok containing the licenses, along with the account details), but have downloaded the demo licenses onto the iLok I already own (which are fully functional for two weeks).

I haven't gotten a whole lot of time to mess with them, but I dig them so far! I especially like the tape machines. If you hit them hard, the saturation is kind of like a compressor...a compressor that just automatically sounds AWESOME. It really makes things punchy and also seems to kind of bring out the upper mids and make things sound more lively. The upper highs get a little more relaxed (in a good way) too.

Here's a little drum test using them. I took a mix I was already working on, added the VCC and VTM in places I felt would make sense, and then redid a little bit of the mix. These have plenty of other processing on them, so it's impossible to really decipher exactly what the VTM and VCC are doing here, but they're making a pretty big difference. In fact, I probably have them hitting the tape machine too hard, but it's addictive. In this mix, VTM (2" tape mode) is the first insert on each track and VCC is the second on each track. All other processing inserts are after those. I've also got the VCC Mixbuss as the first insert on the Master and then another VTM after that (1/2" tape mode).

However, I set those levels mainly on headphones, so even though I'm raving about how much I like it, the levels might be all over the place. I briefly checked on monitors the other night, but it could be wacky.