Laney IRT60H

SkylarWanke

Jan 6, 2014
Wyoming
I just want to preface this by saying that I'm sorry if this particular topic is in the wrong place.

Anyhow, in the next two to four weeks (whenever payday comes), I'm going to be buying a new amp. I've been using exclusively software plugs for the past two years, so this will be my first 'real' gear purchase in quite some time. I think I've narrowed it down, but I would like some opinions. I'm between a Laney IRT60H, or the Laney IRT-Studio. The only real reason the studio is on the table for me is because the cost difference would allow me some wiggle room to afford to take my guitar to a shop to get it set up (it doesn't need it all that bad, but probably needs in nonetheless).

I know the IRT studio runs different power amp tubes and one less tube in the preamp section. To sum it up, I was wondering if anybody had experience with one (or both?) and could help me decide which would be the better option. I do play out occasionally and often jam with full bands. To follow up, my price point is roughly $900, so if there is something better, I'm always willing to listen. The tone I look for is a really tight, crunchy metal sound. I'm not all too concerned about cleans, in all honesty.

Thanks!

Have no experience with either but we played with a band recently who's guitarist used what looked like the IRT60H and it sounded killer.

I've tested both in my local store and I must say I really love the IRT60H, the studio is slightly different but honestly not that much, imho.

Have no experience with either but we played with a band recently who's guitarist used what looked like the IRT60H and it sounded killer.

Awesome. I think I'm gonna pull the trigger on the IRT60H. I haven't heard a bad word about it anywhere. I read on sevenstring.org about a guy who hadn't played his in quite some time and the controls were all crazy, and he plugged it in and still got great tone.