learning by doing?

LadyCal

Friend of Maurice
Apr 29, 2002
GerHeiEpp
www.enteringeternity.de
Just want to know,how many have started playing guitar without a teacher.Do you prefer learning by doing,by visiting a music school or maybe by videos that have been sent to you by a music school?Or had you some help by friends?

I did. I started alone... Then I took a few lessons, then away I went.

Many years of playing later, I am now back in the room paying a teacher to describe theory so I can understand it.

Once you know how to do something, then decide you want to know how and why something you create works, not accepting the fact that it just works, you got problems...

I really wish I studied theory FIRST, then learned how to play.

Sure I play some really cool and unique stuff at times, but I'm on the quest for knowledge right now.

It's a difficult process at best...

Apart from a few lessons a couple of months after I'd picked it up I am completely self taught, no almost nothing about music theory at all...

technique wise I've changed my hand position about 4 times now, each change taking a month or four, have also changed my picking technique several times as well. best thing I did for my left hand posture was buying a seven string...

Just bloody well wish my parents had taken me seriously when I was 5 about learning guitar. They got me a guitar but did anyone teach me how to play it? bastards...

I was self taught at first then took lessons for about a year to help me pass my music A-level. Learning some theorey is useful but don't get too bogged down with it and loose all the fun of playing.

5 years playing. Never took a lesson. But that's because I could never afford em. I'm dying for lessons. I progress too slowly at times because I have no one to show me how to do certain techniques and stuff. Now trying to teach myself theory. So far it's a pain in the ass, but I plan to have a nice instructor in a few weeks if I get this job to help me along with it